Fallen

Fallen

Fallen

Title
Regular price $19.95
/
  • Publisher: Greystone Books
  • Format: Paperback / softback Trade paperback (US)
In the vein of Joan Didion's The Year of Magical Thinking, Kara Stanley tells the compelling story of her husband’s life-changing brain and spinal cord injury and the role of music, science, and love in recovery.Part recovery narrative and part love story, interwoven with the latest research on the brain, Fallen describes the aftermath of a life-threatening brain and spinal cord injury.

In 2008, Simon Paradis stepped backward on the scaffolding where he was doing construction work and fell two stories to the hard stone tile below. Landing on his back, head, and spine, he suffered a severe brain and spinal cord injury. Doctors warned his wife, Kara Stanley, that he probably would not survive, and that if he did, his mind and his body would never be the same. In Fallen, Kara Stanley chronicles the effect of this catastrophic accident on both Simon and her and on their marriage.

Combining the heart-wrenching narrative of Simon’s recovery with the latest research on the brain, the book elucidates the resilience of both the human heart and the human mind. It also describes the transformative role of music in Simon’s life both before and during his continuing rehabilitation and his hard-fought battle to return

320

Please see our ordering page for detailed information.

Mennonite Valley Girl
Carla Funk
$32.95
Dancing in Small Spaces
Leslie A. Davidson
$22.00
The Weight of Sand
Edith Blais
$34.95
In Search of Al Howie
Jared Beasley
$25.00
Every Little Scrap and Wonder
Carla Funk
$29.95
From Bear Rock Mountain
Antoine Bear Rock Mountain
from $25.00