Chemistry for Breakfast

Chemistry for Breakfast

Chemistry for Breakfast

Title
Regular price $32.95
/
  • Publisher: Greystone Books
  • Format: Hardback With printed dust jacket

FINALIST for the Subaru Prize for Excellence in Science Books“This book shows that chemistry is not just relevant to life; it’s really, really interesting.”—Foreword Reviews, STARRED review

A perfect book for readers of The Physics of Everyday Things and Storm in a Teacup

Have you ever wondered why your alarm clock sends you spiraling? Or how toothpaste works on your teeth? Why do cakes and cookies sometimes turn out dry? (Hint: you may not be adding enough sugar.) In Chemistry for Breakfast, award-winning chemist and science communicator Mai Thi Nguyen-Kim reveals the amazing chemistry behind everyday things (like baking and toothpaste) and not-so-everyday things (like space travel). With a relatable, funny, and conversational style, she explains essential chemical processes everyone should know—and turns the ordinary into extraordinary.

Over the course of a single day, Mai shows us that chemistry is everywhere: we just have to look for it. In the morning, her partner’s much-too-loud alarm prompts a deep dive into biological clocks, fight-or-flight responses, and melatonin’s role in making us sleepy. Before heading to the lab, she explains how the stress hormone cortisol helps wake us up, and brews her morning coffee with a side of heat conduction and states of matter. 

Mai continues her day with explainers of cell phone technology, food preservation, body odor, baking, the effects of alcohol, and the chemistry behind the expression “love drunk.” All the while, she shows us what it’s really like to be a working chemist, and fights against the stereotype of a nerd playing with test tubes in a lab coat. 

Filled with charming illustrations, laughter, and plenty of surprises, Chemistry for Breakfast is a perfect book for anyone who wants to deepen their understanding of chemistry without having prior knowledge of the science. With Mai as your guide, you’ll find something fascinating everywhere around you.

240

Please see our ordering page for detailed information.

The Greatest Polar Expedition of All Time
Markus Rex
$34.95
Mauled
Crosbie Cotton
$25.00
The Hidden Kingdom of Fungi
Keith Seifert
$34.95
Bears Without Fear
Kevin Van Tighem
$25.00
What Bears Teach Us
Sarah Elmeligi
$45.00
Talking with Bears
G.A. Bradshaw
$32.00